fromage blanc

By: saidemily

Mar 10 2012

Tags: ,

Category: food, new york, photography

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/1.7
Focal Length:20mm
ISO:160
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:DMC-GF1

Way back in my high school days, my friends and I obsessed with the popular Serendipity3 restaurant in NYC because of their famous desserts. Looking back, we probably wanted to go not because of the food, but because of the ‘cool factor’ and funky décor. I realized this when I went to the DC establishment last summer and was woefully unimpressed. The ambience was trying too hard, and though our waiter was very nice, he had too much of that ‘HAY GURL’ personality that could only be appreciated by unassuming out of towners. And the food? I can only describe it in one word: heavy. Heavy cakes, heavy brownies, heavy ice cream, heavy everything (including the patrons!).

ChikaLicious Dessert Bar is the antithesis of Serendipity3. Instead of the kitsch, the dessert bar is beautifully undecorated. This cheesecake I had with the pre-fixe menu is like the decor: white, light, and perhaps life-changing. In fact, I’ve been wanting to try this for oh, 1.5 years now. Obviously, it did not disappoint. The fromage blanc cheesecake is a textural and flavorful sensation. The cheese has a very distinct tang that distinguishes itself from the sweetness of a normal cheesecake. But the texture is the highlight; it’s like eating a cloud. And even that description doesn’t do it enough justice. I’d love more than anything to learn how to make this, but alas, Chika (the head chef) keeps her methods under wraps. But it’s not like I’m gonna grovel at her feet until she gives me a job… y-yeah. pfft!

Leave a Reply

