polenta, and other projects

By: saidemily

Mar 09 2012

Category: cooking, photography, savory

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/1.7
Focal Length:20mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/59 sec
Camera:DMC-GF1

I’m actually surprised a lot by the ingredients my local supermarket has in stock. A couple weeks ago they had a sale on prickly pears, and just yesterday they had some blood oranges (though somewhat sad looking ones) in addition to their entire ethnic & rare ingredients aisle. But what’s great is their section of natural foods, which is where I got this polenta. I’ve never actually cooked or tried polenta. I know that it’s corn and well… kind of like grits? But I figured I should at least try to make some creamy polenta to go with the fresh grape tomatoes and local mozzarella I bought that day. Now, I should tell you that it came out perfect. That in no way did I overcook it into a solid, sliceable texture, rather than it being creamy & delicious as I originally intended. I admit nothing.

On a side note, I’ve decided to take on a big project, REAL big by my modest standards, which hopefully will kick off the day I get back from vacation in April. Let’s hope the idea will survive until then!

Leave a Reply

