poutine & beer

By: saidemily

Aug 25 2011

Tags: ,

Category: cooking, food, photography, traveling

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/1.7
Focal Length:20mm
ISO:160
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:DMC-GF1

As if I haven’t traveled enough this year, I decided to spontaneously hop on a plane and visit a friend in Toronto. I can say with great confidence that this weekend trip has ruined my diet and my chances for a healthy life. Culinary delights included: all you can eat sushi, fish & chips, lechon, red velvet cake, barbecue ribs, dessert crepes… I can’t even remember the rest. Every meal ended with a food baby and me saying: “I need to lie down.” Did I mention I have to go to a wedding in a month? I’ll probably need some butter to slide my dress over my newly-formed fat rolls.

One of my cousins in Toronto (who I haven’t seen in over 10 years, yikes!) recommended I try poutine while I was there. Poutine is a French-Canadian dish consisting of fries, gravy, and cheese curds; basically like disco fries, but better. At first I was reluctant to try it simply because I had also overeaten that day, but later that night my friend & I ended up in a pub with a basket of poutine and a huge mug of Hoegaarden. I think I need to lay down again.

Leave a Reply

